Looking for CCW Classes Info?

Would Stricter Gun Laws Actually Curb Gun Violence in America

If you’re looking for anything ranging from How To Get A Gun License to Concealed Carry Training you’re at the right site! FeltonAcademy.Com is well recognized providers of conceal handgun permit courses for VA but also several other states like Oregon, Wyoming, and Iowa. Many who visit out site have questions about – What does it mean to have a concealed carry permit? Having a concealed carry permit suggests that you are permitted to bring a gun in your person or anywhere near you in public areas. State jurisdictions vary greatly about this issue so it is important that you understand what laws are being enforced in your state.

In some states, the concealed carry permit is not only applicable to guns but also to other self-defense products like chemical sprays. But in all 50 states, carrying handguns is generally permissible but doing so is subject to a few regulations.

There are 4 permitting policies imposed in each state and your capacity to bring a concealed weapon may be subject to these laws. These are:

  1. Unrestricted

Only a few states issue unrestricted concealed weapon licenses, which indicates no permission is needed to carry a handgun. A person may bring a gun at his own discretion.

  1. Shall-issue

Under this guideline, a license is required to bring a concealed handgun but there are no discretion in awarding of these licenses. Anybody may request for one and be granted.

  1. May-issue

Here, the license to carry a concealed weapon is issued by the sheriff.

  1. No issue

In no-issue states, no one is permitted to bring a gun in public areas.

Why You Should Get A Conceal Weapons Certification?

Generally speaking, bringing a concealed gun in public areas is permitted across fifty states. But then, several of them require a permit to do so. Although you do have the choice to avoid applying for a permit and just bring a gun as you wish, there are several benefits to doing the paperwork.

Bringing firearms is a huge responsibility. It’s only right that using it is bound by laws. If you own a gun for the purpose of self-defense, then you have to be responsible enough to understand when to bring it or when to keep it. Securing yourself and your loved ones should be everyone’s priority.

But because the laws surrounding concealed carry can change from one city to another, having a license assures you peace of mind all the time. This is especially true if you always drive from one place to another and the rules about carrying firearms may change drastically.

The permit is a proof that you’re a law-abiding citizen and you do not carry a weapon for no reason at all. Having the required licenses shows that you have nothing to hide and you’re using the gun exactly as how you intended it. The background check that is normally needed when filing for a permit shows your pure intentions. If you would like more details, please visit at out blog.

Conceal Firearm Permit Information Article:

Concealed handgun license in Salem OR

Guide to Concealed Carry in Oregon

About the Oregon Concealed Carry License: Applications are through the Sheriff’s Office of the county of residence and non-resident permits may be applied for through any Oregon Sheriff’s Office.

Age Requirement: 21 years or older.

Validity: Permit is valid for 4 years; after which it must be renewed.

Cost: Cost is $65 for a new Oregon Concealed Handgun License and $50 for a renewal. We recommend bringing check or money order as these are accepted at all Sheriffs (some accept cash as well). Some Sheriffs are asking for two separate checks; one for $50 made out to the county Sheriff and one for $15 made out to the Oregon State Police (total of $65).

Acceptable Training: Must take an approved Concealed Carry Course for Oregon. There is no range or live fire requirement. The course online here at: https://www.mycarrypermit.com/ is accepted in every county in Oregon for both resident and non-resident Concealed Carry Permits.

Reciprocity: There are currently 23 states that you may carry in with an Oregon Concealed Carry Permit. However, please remember that while traveling you must follow the specific laws in each state you travel through. Oregon will not honor any other state’s permit to carry.

Non-Resident Oregon Permit: Oregon will issue a Non-Resident Concealed Carry License but only to residents of the 4 states that border Oregon (Washington, Idaho, Nevada, and California). Non-residents from those states may apply through any Oregon Sheriff’s Office however, issuing them is up to each Sheriff’s discretion. We recommend contacting that Sheriff before going there to see if that one will issue a non-resident permit. Some Oregon Sheriffs are requesting non-residents to supply two references when they apply.

Places Off-Limits even with a Permit/License: Court facilities, Department of Corrections Property, Indian Reservation without written permission, Capitol Buildings. Universities in Oregon have banned firearms from their buildings, it is off limits to carry into any building or arena on campus. For students, faculty or anyone who does business on University property you may be expelled or lose your job for carrying a firearm on campus at all.

Do “No Gun Signs” Hold Force of Law: NO. “No firearm” signs in Oregon have no force of law unless they are posted on property mentioned (above) in state law as off limits. If you carry into a place not mentioned in the law that is posted (or not posted with a sign) and they ask you to leave, you must leave. If you refuse to leave, then you are trespassing and can be charged with that offense.

Contact with Law Enforcement: Your Oregon Concealed Carry License must be signed and must be carried on your person anytime you carry a concealed handgun.

State Areas: Carry in Oregon with a valid CCW license is allowed in State Parks, State and National Forests, State WMA’s and Road side rest areas.

Car Carry Without a Permit/License: Oregon does allow you to have a loaded firearm in your vehicle without a concealed permit if the firearm is either not concealed or “not readily accessible”. Localities may also regulate firearms in public places including your car so be sure to check local regulations as well.

Open Carry: Open Carry is legal in Oregon but local governments have the right to adopt laws on carrying without a permit and some have done so. If you plan on open carrying without a license to carry, please be sure to check local laws as well.

Oregon Residency: You may apply for a Resident Oregon permit to carry upon having just one of the following: Oregon Driver’s License, voter registration card (for an Oregon County), documentation showing you own or lease property in Oregon, OR have filed an Oregon tax return for the most recent year.

Other Notes: Airports – You may carry in parking lot and terminal only. Oregon Permit covers only handguns (no other weapons). Minimum age for possessing and transporting handguns in Oregon is 18.

Where to find more information: We recommend going straight to the source, Oregon State Firearm Laws: 166.170 thru 166.638 and Oregon State Deadly Force Laws: 161.190 thru 161.270

Related Service to Conceal Gun Permit:

CCW Classes

Looking for Info On CCW Classes ? At Felton Academy we try to help anyone looking for Information about CCW Classes! Whether your're looking for Concealed Carry or Concealed Carry Classes you are at the right place! Even though FeltonAcademy.Com is well recognized providers of conceal Virginia handgun certification classes as well [...]

2018-04-13T08:53:12+00:00