Looking for Concealed Permit Information?

How to Apply for or Renew a Concealed Weapon License / Concealed

If you are looking for anything ranging from Gun Laws to Concealed Carry Classes you are at the right place! Felton Training Group is well known providers of conceal weapons certification classes for VA but also several other states like Oregon, Wyoming, and Iowa. Many who visit out site have concerns about – What does it mean to have a concealed carry permit? Owning a concealed carry permit means that you’re allowed to bring a gun in your possession or in a close proximity to you in public areas. State jurisdictions vary greatly on this matter so it’s essential that you know what rules are being imposed in your locality.

In some states, the concealed carry permit isn’t only applied to lethal weapons but also to other self-defense devices such as pepper sprays. But in all 50 states, bringing guns is generally allowed though doing so is subject to a few regulations.

There are four licensing policies imposed in each state and a person’s capacity to bring a concealed weapon may be subject to these laws. These are:

  1. Unrestricted

Only a few states allow unrestricted concealed weapon permits, which means no permission is necessary to carry a handgun. An individual can bring a gun at his sole discretion.

  1. Shall-issue

Under this restriction, a license is required to carry a concealed gun but there are no restriction in giving out these licenses. Anyone may request for it and be granted.

  1. May-issue

Here, the license to bring a concealed gun is approved by the sheriff.

  1. No issue

In no-issue states, no one is permitted to carry a concealed weapon in public areas.

Why You Should Get A Conceal Handgun Permit?

Technically speaking, carrying a concealed firearm in public places is allowed in all fifty states. However, some of them require a license to do so. Although you do have the choice to avoid the licensing phase and just carry a gun as you desire, there are several advantages to doing the paperwork.

Carrying firearms is a tremendous responsibility. It is only right that using it is bound by laws. If you have a weapon for issues self-defense, then you must be responsible enough to understand when to bring it and when to hide it. Protecting yourself and your loved ones should be everyone’s priority.

But since the laws regarding concealed carry may be different from one county to another, having a permit gives you peace of mind all the time. This is specially true if you always go from one county to another and the rules about carrying handguns may differ.

A license is a proof that you are a responsible citizen and you do not bring a firearm for no reason at all. Owning the required permits indicates that you have nothing to be afraid of and you are using the firearm exactly as how you intended it. The background check that is usually needed when filing for a permit indicates your true intentions. If you would like more info, please take a look at out blog.

Conceal Firearm Permit Information Blog Article:

Oregon Concealed Handgun Licensing Classes & Course

Guide to Concealed Carry in Oregon

About the Oregon Concealed Carry License: Applications are through the Sheriff’s Office of the county of residence and non-resident permits may be applied for through any Oregon Sheriff’s Office.

Age Requirement: 21 years or older.

Validity: Permit is valid for 4 years; after which it must be renewed.

Cost: Cost is $65 for a new Oregon Concealed Handgun License and $50 for a renewal. We recommend bringing check or money order as these are accepted at all Sheriffs (some accept cash as well). Some Sheriffs are asking for two separate checks; one for $50 made out to the county Sheriff and one for $15 made out to the Oregon State Police (total of $65).

Acceptable Training: Must take an approved Concealed Carry Course for Oregon. There is no range or live fire requirement. The course online here at: https://www.mycarrypermit.com/ is accepted in every county in Oregon for both resident and non-resident Concealed Carry Permits.

Reciprocity: There are currently 23 states that you may carry in with an Oregon Concealed Carry Permit. However, please remember that while traveling you must follow the specific laws in each state you travel through. Oregon will not honor any other state’s permit to carry.

Non-Resident Oregon Permit: Oregon will issue a Non-Resident Concealed Carry License but only to residents of the 4 states that border Oregon (Washington, Idaho, Nevada, and California). Non-residents from those states may apply through any Oregon Sheriff’s Office however, issuing them is up to each Sheriff’s discretion. We recommend contacting that Sheriff before going there to see if that one will issue a non-resident permit. Some Oregon Sheriffs are requesting non-residents to supply two references when they apply.

Places Off-Limits even with a Permit/License: Court facilities, Department of Corrections Property, Indian Reservation without written permission, Capitol Buildings. Universities in Oregon have banned firearms from their buildings, it is off limits to carry into any building or arena on campus. For students, faculty or anyone who does business on University property you may be expelled or lose your job for carrying a firearm on campus at all.

Do “No Gun Signs” Hold Force of Law: NO. “No firearm” signs in Oregon have no force of law unless they are posted on property mentioned (above) in state law as off limits. If you carry into a place not mentioned in the law that is posted (or not posted with a sign) and they ask you to leave, you must leave. If you refuse to leave, then you are trespassing and can be charged with that offense.

Contact with Law Enforcement: Your Oregon Concealed Carry License must be signed and must be carried on your person anytime you carry a concealed handgun.

State Areas: Carry in Oregon with a valid CCW license is allowed in State Parks, State and National Forests, State WMA’s and Road side rest areas.

Car Carry Without a Permit/License: Oregon does allow you to have a loaded firearm in your vehicle without a concealed permit if the firearm is either not concealed or “not readily accessible”. Localities may also regulate firearms in public places including your car so be sure to check local regulations as well.

Open Carry: Open Carry is legal in Oregon but local governments have the right to adopt laws on carrying without a permit and some have done so. If you plan on open carrying without a license to carry, please be sure to check local laws as well.

Oregon Residency: You may apply for a Resident Oregon permit to carry upon having just one of the following: Oregon Driver’s License, voter registration card (for an Oregon County), documentation showing you own or lease property in Oregon, OR have filed an Oregon tax return for the most recent year.

Other Notes: Airports – You may carry in parking lot and terminal only. Oregon Permit covers only handguns (no other weapons). Minimum age for possessing and transporting handguns in Oregon is 18.

Where to find more information: We recommend going straight to the source, Oregon State Firearm Laws: 166.170 thru 166.638 and Oregon State Deadly Force Laws: 161.190 thru 161.270

Related Service to Conceal Weapons Permit:

Concealed Permit

Are You Seeking Info On Concealed Permit ? At FeltonAcademy.Com we try to help anybody looking for Information about Concealed Permit! Whether your're looking for Concealed Carry Guns or Conceal Carry License you're at the right place! Although the Felton Training Group is well known providers of conceal Virginia gun permit courses [...]

2018-04-10T08:16:35+00:00