Looking for Gun Laws Info?

Concealed handgun license in Eugene OR

If you are looking for anything ranging from Constitutional Carry to Conceal Carry License you are at the right website! FeltonAcademy.Com is well recognized providers of conceal firearm permit courses for Virginia but also many other states like Oregon, Wyoming, and Iowa. A great number of people who visit out site have concerns about – What does it mean to have a concealed carry permit? Owning a concealed carry permit means that you are allowed to bring a gun in your possession or in a close proximity to you in public places. State jurisdictions vary significantly on this issue so it’s essential that you know what rules are being imposed in your state.

In some counties, the concealed carry permit is not only applied to handguns but also to other self-defense products such as pepper sprays. But in all fifty states, carrying handguns is generally allowed though doing so is subject to certain regulations.

There are 4 permitting policies enforced in every state and a person’s ability to bring a concealed weapon is subject to these policies. These are:

  1. Unrestricted

Only a few states issue unrestricted concealed weapon licenses, which means no permission has to be sought to carry a handgun. An individual can do so at his sole discretion.

  1. Shall-issue

Under this guideline, a license is necessary to carry a concealed weapon but there are no restriction in awarding of these permits. Anyone may apply for it and be approved.

  1. May-issue

Here, the license to bring a concealed handgun is issued by the police.

  1. No issue

In no-issue states, nobody is permitted to carry a gun in public areas.

Why You Should Get A Conceal Gun Certification?

Technically speaking, carrying a concealed weapon in public areas is permitted across 50 states. But then, some of them require a permit to do so. Even though you do have the freedom to skip the licensing phase and just bring a handgun as you wish, there are many benefits to doing the paperwork.

Carrying handguns is a big responsibility. It is only proper for its use to be bound by laws. If you possess a handgun for issues self-defense, then you have to be responsible enough to know when to bring it or when to hide it. Protecting yourself and your loved ones should be everyone’s priority.

However, the laws surrounding concealed carry may be different from one county to another, carrying a permit assures you peace of mind at all times. This is specifically true if you tend to drive from one city to another and the laws about bringing weapons may differ.

The permit is a proof that you are a responsible person and you don’t carry a firearm for no reason. Having the required licenses shows that you have nothing to be afraid of and you are using the weapon in the way you intended it. The background check that is normally needed when asking for a permit shows your pure intentions. If you would like more details, please check out at out blog.

Conceal Handgun Permit Information Blog:

Virginia Online Concealed Carry Course and Weapons Permit & Hand

Guide to Concealed Carry in Oregon

About the Oregon Concealed Carry License: Applications are through the Sheriff’s Office of the county of residence and non-resident permits may be applied for through any Oregon Sheriff’s Office.

Age Requirement: 21 years or older.

Validity: Permit is valid for 4 years; after which it must be renewed.

Cost: Cost is $65 for a new Oregon Concealed Handgun License and $50 for a renewal. We recommend bringing check or money order as these are accepted at all Sheriffs (some accept cash as well). Some Sheriffs are asking for two separate checks; one for $50 made out to the county Sheriff and one for $15 made out to the Oregon State Police (total of $65).

Acceptable Training: Must take an approved Concealed Carry Course for Oregon. There is no range or live fire requirement. The course online here at: https://www.mycarrypermit.com/ is accepted in every county in Oregon for both resident and non-resident Concealed Carry Permits.

Reciprocity: There are currently 23 states that you may carry in with an Oregon Concealed Carry Permit. However, please remember that while traveling you must follow the specific laws in each state you travel through. Oregon will not honor any other state’s permit to carry.

Non-Resident Oregon Permit: Oregon will issue a Non-Resident Concealed Carry License but only to residents of the 4 states that border Oregon (Washington, Idaho, Nevada, and California). Non-residents from those states may apply through any Oregon Sheriff’s Office however, issuing them is up to each Sheriff’s discretion. We recommend contacting that Sheriff before going there to see if that one will issue a non-resident permit. Some Oregon Sheriffs are requesting non-residents to supply two references when they apply.

Places Off-Limits even with a Permit/License: Court facilities, Department of Corrections Property, Indian Reservation without written permission, Capitol Buildings. Universities in Oregon have banned firearms from their buildings, it is off limits to carry into any building or arena on campus. For students, faculty or anyone who does business on University property you may be expelled or lose your job for carrying a firearm on campus at all.

Do “No Gun Signs” Hold Force of Law: NO. “No firearm” signs in Oregon have no force of law unless they are posted on property mentioned (above) in state law as off limits. If you carry into a place not mentioned in the law that is posted (or not posted with a sign) and they ask you to leave, you must leave. If you refuse to leave, then you are trespassing and can be charged with that offense.

Contact with Law Enforcement: Your Oregon Concealed Carry License must be signed and must be carried on your person anytime you carry a concealed handgun.

State Areas: Carry in Oregon with a valid CCW license is allowed in State Parks, State and National Forests, State WMA’s and Road side rest areas.

Car Carry Without a Permit/License: Oregon does allow you to have a loaded firearm in your vehicle without a concealed permit if the firearm is either not concealed or “not readily accessible”. Localities may also regulate firearms in public places including your car so be sure to check local regulations as well.

Open Carry: Open Carry is legal in Oregon but local governments have the right to adopt laws on carrying without a permit and some have done so. If you plan on open carrying without a license to carry, please be sure to check local laws as well.

Oregon Residency: You may apply for a Resident Oregon permit to carry upon having just one of the following: Oregon Driver’s License, voter registration card (for an Oregon County), documentation showing you own or lease property in Oregon, OR have filed an Oregon tax return for the most recent year.

Other Notes: Airports – You may carry in parking lot and terminal only. Oregon Permit covers only handguns (no other weapons). Minimum age for possessing and transporting handguns in Oregon is 18.

Where to find more information: We recommend going straight to the source, Oregon State Firearm Laws: 166.170 thru 166.638 and Oregon State Deadly Force Laws: 161.190 thru 161.270

Related Service to Conceal Handgun Certification:

Gun Laws

Seeking Information On Gun Laws ? At Felton Training Group we try to help anybody seeking Information about Gun Laws! Whether your're looking for National Concealed Carry or Concealed Carry Permit Online you are at the right place! Although The Felton Academy is known providers of conceal Virginia handgun permit courses as [...]

2018-04-01T03:00:39+00:00