Looking for National Concealed Carry Oregon Information?

Guide to Concealed Carry in Oregon

If you are looking for anything ranging from Gun Laws to Conceal Carry License you’re at the right site! Felton Academy is well known providers of conceal firearm permit classes for Virginia but also many other states like Oregon, Wyoming, and Iowa. A great number of people who visit out website have questions about – What does it mean to have a concealed carry permit? Being granted a concealed carry permit means that you’re permitted to bring a weapon in your possession or in a close proximity to you in public areas. State jurisdictions vary greatly on this matter so it is essential that you understand what rules are being practiced in your county.

In certain areas, the concealed carry permit isn’t only applicable to lethal weapons but also to other self-defense devices such as chemical sprays. However, in all fifty states, bringing handguns is generally permissible though doing so is still under a handful of regulations.

There are four permitting policies enforced in every state and one’s capacity to carry a concealed weapon may be subject to these guidelines. These are:

  1. Unrestricted

Only a few states allow unrestricted concealed weapon licenses, which indicates no permission is needed to carry a handgun. A person can do so at his own discretion.

  1. Shall-issue

Under this policy, a license is needed to bring a concealed weapon but there are no discretion in giving out these permits. Anybody may request for it and be granted.

  1. May-issue

Here, the license to carry a concealed handgun is granted by the local authorities.

  1. No issue

In no-issue states, nobody is permitted to bring a handgun in public places.

Why You Should Get A Conceal Weapons Certification?

Technically speaking, bringing a concealed weapon in public areas is permitted in all fifty states. But then, a majority states require a permit to do so. Although you do have the freedom to avoid applying for a permit and just carry a firearm as you wish, there are a lot of advantages to going through the paperwork.

Bringing weapons is a tremendous responsibility. It’s only right that using it is bound by the law. If you possess a gun for the purpose of self-defense, then you have to be responsible enough to know when to bring it and when to keep it. Securing yourself or your loved ones must be everyone’s priority.

However, the laws regarding concealed carry may change from one state to another, having a permit assures you peace of mind at all times. This is specially true if you tend to go from one locality to the next and the laws about carrying firearms may differ.

The license is a proof that you’re a responsible citizen and you don’t bring a weapon for no reason. Having the necessary permits indicates that you have nothing to hide and you’re using the gun exactly as how you intended it. The background check that’s usually required when filing for a permit indicates your pure intentions. If you would like more details, please check out at out blog.

Conceal Handgun Certification Information Article:

Concealed Weapons Permit in Suffolk VA

Guide to Concealed Carry in Oregon

About the Oregon Concealed Carry License: Applications are through the Sheriff’s Office of the county of residence and non-resident permits may be applied for through any Oregon Sheriff’s Office.

Age Requirement: 21 years or older.

Validity: Permit is valid for 4 years; after which it must be renewed.

Cost: Cost is $65 for a new Oregon Concealed Handgun License and $50 for a renewal. We recommend bringing check or money order as these are accepted at all Sheriffs (some accept cash as well). Some Sheriffs are asking for two separate checks; one for $50 made out to the county Sheriff and one for $15 made out to the Oregon State Police (total of $65).

Acceptable Training: Must take an approved Concealed Carry Course for Oregon. There is no range or live fire requirement. The course online here at: https://www.mycarrypermit.com/ is accepted in every county in Oregon for both resident and non-resident Concealed Carry Permits.

Reciprocity: There are currently 23 states that you may carry in with an Oregon Concealed Carry Permit. However, please remember that while traveling you must follow the specific laws in each state you travel through. Oregon will not honor any other state’s permit to carry.

Non-Resident Oregon Permit: Oregon will issue a Non-Resident Concealed Carry License but only to residents of the 4 states that border Oregon (Washington, Idaho, Nevada, and California). Non-residents from those states may apply through any Oregon Sheriff’s Office however, issuing them is up to each Sheriff’s discretion. We recommend contacting that Sheriff before going there to see if that one will issue a non-resident permit. Some Oregon Sheriffs are requesting non-residents to supply two references when they apply.

Places Off-Limits even with a Permit/License: Court facilities, Department of Corrections Property, Indian Reservation without written permission, Capitol Buildings. Universities in Oregon have banned firearms from their buildings, it is off limits to carry into any building or arena on campus. For students, faculty or anyone who does business on University property you may be expelled or lose your job for carrying a firearm on campus at all.

Do “No Gun Signs” Hold Force of Law: NO. “No firearm” signs in Oregon have no force of law unless they are posted on property mentioned (above) in state law as off limits. If you carry into a place not mentioned in the law that is posted (or not posted with a sign) and they ask you to leave, you must leave. If you refuse to leave, then you are trespassing and can be charged with that offense.

Contact with Law Enforcement: Your Oregon Concealed Carry License must be signed and must be carried on your person anytime you carry a concealed handgun.

State Areas: Carry in Oregon with a valid CCW license is allowed in State Parks, State and National Forests, State WMA’s and Road side rest areas.

Car Carry Without a Permit/License: Oregon does allow you to have a loaded firearm in your vehicle without a concealed permit if the firearm is either not concealed or “not readily accessible”. Localities may also regulate firearms in public places including your car so be sure to check local regulations as well.

Open Carry: Open Carry is legal in Oregon but local governments have the right to adopt laws on carrying without a permit and some have done so. If you plan on open carrying without a license to carry, please be sure to check local laws as well.

Oregon Residency: You may apply for a Resident Oregon permit to carry upon having just one of the following: Oregon Driver’s License, voter registration card (for an Oregon County), documentation showing you own or lease property in Oregon, OR have filed an Oregon tax return for the most recent year.

Other Notes: Airports – You may carry in parking lot and terminal only. Oregon Permit covers only handguns (no other weapons). Minimum age for possessing and transporting handguns in Oregon is 18.

Where to find more information: We recommend going straight to the source, Oregon State Firearm Laws: 166.170 thru 166.638 and Oregon State Deadly Force Laws: 161.190 thru 161.270

Related Service to Conceal Gun Certification:

National Concealed Carry Oregon

Are You Looking for Information On National Concealed Carry Oregon ? At FeltonAcademy.Com we try to help everyone in need Information about National Concealed Carry Oregon! Whether your are looking for Concealed Weapons Permit or Concealed Carry Permit Online you are at the right place! Even though the Felton Training Group is [...]

2018-04-13T21:22:05+00:00